Book vs. Movie: Why the Changes?

Let me just get on my soap box for a moment.

First I would like to point out the obvious fact:

Books and movies are two completely different forms of entertainment. Why does that matter? Well, let me tell you.

Before you can criticize the changes made to a story line when put in movie form you have to realize why this previously stated fact is important.

Book: Imagery created by you.

Movie: Imagery created by filming team.

Book: Characters imagined by you.

Movie: Characters picked from real actors (I say real because you have to realize that you can’t find an actor/actress that looks exactly like the character, especially since everyone pictures them differently).

Book: Every detail in a scene has to be explained to a tee.

Movie: Every detail has to be created and is shown in a much shorter space of time than a written out description.

Book: Takes a long time to make a point, considering it is all written out.

Movie: Long paragraphs in a book are only a few seconds in a movie.

Book: Doesn’t need too much action and adventure in order to be a good story line.

Okay, before I say this one, it needs some explaining. This is somewhat more of an opinion, but sort of not. Okay, let me try to make this make more sense.

In today’s society, a movie will not get a good audience, or a good review, or the interest of the viewers unless it has action, romance, and humor. This wasn’t the case even just a decade ago. So, that brings the next point.

Movie: Needs action, romance and humor in order to be a “good” movie.

Need an example?

The Hobbit Movie Trilogy.

Notice,

Action: Would have been there anyway.

Romance: Tauriel and Kili.

Humor: Yeah… I’m pretty sure you can all see how this applied to these movies. Potty humor, funny (and I use that term lightly) trolls, and Bombur. Yes, just Bombur, and a little bit Ori. They were the comical relief of the movies. And sadly, they weren’t even funny. More annoying really.

So, can you see now why some of the changes from books to movie were “necessary?”

You may not have liked (I could almost definitely say didn’t like) the Tauriel-Kili thing, but that in a way is our fault. All the ratings, all the viewers, everything is ruled by our (or I guess, this generation’s) inability to enjoy a good movie without these three things.

I completely understand why Peter Jackson made the changes he did. For all we know, he could have been forced (or I guess required…same thing…) to add those things. I’m not saying I liked the out come of those decisions, but it wasn’t entirely his fault. He has been in the movie business for years, he has seen the developments, the required elements that get good ratings.

And this is also why Lord of the Rings was SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO much better. Because back ten some odd years ago, we didn’t have to have stupid humor. We didn’t have to watch movies that just wasted away our brains. We watched good movies.

I am also not saying that all movies today are stupid. But a lot of them are. Some very few movies (one being the Giver) actually have meaning. Even shows like Doctor Who lost their meaning. It’s all just filler time we need to waste on something other than sitting around.

I miss the good old days when I could watch a movie and think “Oh my goodness! What just happened!?” or “Wow! Mind blown!” or “I get it now!” or “Holy crap that was amazing!” or “I can totally see the symbolism in this!” Okay, okay, I’m done now.

So, next time you want to get angry at Peter Jackson because of the Hobbit movies, get angry at society first.

Leave a Reply

