Society vs. the Hobbit

To start off, I would like to say:

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.” -J.R.R. Tolkien

As most of you may know, the Hobbit movies were a bit shy of the Tolkien masterpiece we all know and love. However, I hate to hear all the hate. Everywhere I turn in the Middle Earth fandom, I hear tons of things about how the Hobbit movies “should not have been made.” Although I do understand the flaws and disappointing fallacies in the movies, I have to say, I DO NOT CARE!

Well, obviously I do care somewhat, but I just had to make my point. We should all know by now that MOVIES WILL NEVER EVER EVER BE EXACTLY LIKE THE BOOK! And if you don’t know by now, you are lying to yourself.

For one thing, obviously, movies have the advantage of visual and sound. Although you may be able to form these for yourself when reading, movies don’t have to take all the time explaining when they can just show you. That is the point! If you want the book, read it. Movies are made to be different, if it wasn’t, I can honestly say you would 100% HATE the movie. It would bore your brains out.

One of the biggest things people fail to realize is that Peter Jackson has done his research! You may think he is making things up and pulling things out of thin air, but he isn’t. If more of us would simply read the Appendices of the Lord of the Rings (found in the back of the Return of the King) we wouldn’t have people panicking about how Azog wasn’t in the Hobbit, and Gandalf never did that in the Hobbit. It doesn’t matter if it happened in the Hobbit! It happened nonetheless!

Let’s take a look at some examples, shall we?

So, Azog kills Thror. We see clearly in the movie that he beheads the king, and guess what? It happens in the book! In the Appendix! How many of you knew that? Maybe some of you did, but I can almost guarantee that most of those who are angry about the inaccuracies did not know that. Another thing, in the Hobbit book, Gandalf disappears several times, never to be seen until later times. Well, what was he doing? This question is answered in the movies. All the things you never knew were happening during the quest for Erebor were shown to us. Why would that be a bad thing?

I hear plenty of people complaining about the elf Tauriel. I’m not going to say I agree with the creation of a non-existent character, because I don’t. And you know what? It wasn’t even Peter Jackson’s idea! Guillermo del Toro was the creator. He wanted a strong female character, and unfortunately, he didn’t seem to think finding an actual, Tolkien created character would have worked…

Although I don’t agree with the creation of Tauriel, I don’t care that there was a love interest. Why shouldn’t Kili be allowed to fall in love? Because Tolkien didn’t take the time to write it himself? He wouldn’t have time to! He was busy using that time to create brilliant imagery, which the movies didn’t need. What’s wrong with a little characterization for almost personality-less dwarves?

I know I am pretty much ranting, and sorry if I have offended or been rude in any way. I am just sick to death of hearing only the bad. Hearing that the Hobbit had nothing to it that was any good, when I know for a fact that it was! I mean, did you see that acting? Brilliant! Martin Freeman is a genius! As well as Benedict Cumberbatch, Luke Evans, John Bell, and so many more! I loved it!

So, can’t we just set aside the hate and too high standards and just enjoy a well acted, well put together movie that was made to spark some humanity in us? Tolkien wrote his books intending to show so much deep meaning through symbolism. That symbolism was even used in the movies! That alone is a miracle!

Next time you want to get angry or criticize the movies, take a deep breath, pull out Tolkien’s books, and use that angry energy to research through the books and see if that did, indeed, happen. Who knows! Maybe you will find that it was true to the books! And that anger will turn in to astonished joy! Wouldn’t you like that a whole ton more?

Besides, how in the world would anyone be able to make a movie out of everything that wasn’t specifically in the books? We do want to know what was happening all that time don’t we? I don’t see why it is a bad thing that we got to see all the things of Middle Earth that were happening at the same time! Heck, I wish I could have seen more! And now that the Middle Earth movies are over, I don’t have anyone to put it all together for me and make sense of it. Now all that effort is up to me, which isn’t all that bad, but I sure wish I could have seen Richard Armitage acting it out!

“The world is indeed full of peril and in it there are many dark places. But still there is much that is fair. And though in all lands, love is now mingled with grief, it still grows, perhaps, the greater.”-J.R.R. Tolkien

Leave a Reply

